The Black Vegetarian Struggle: Eggplant

19 Jul

I have to give a shout out to a special person in my life on his first blog post. We all have our vegetarian cuisine hatreds; for me, I haven’t found it yet. I’m sure my mom, who said I was such a picky eater as a kid, would be so surprised! Great job, babe, can’t wait for the next posts!

Omari's Words

I am a big black vegetarian and people constantly ask me what I eat. It is a common question for a black man composed of 218 pounds of raw steel (you let me be great!) that has been a vegetarian his entire life. I am always happy to answer the question because it gives me an opportunity to share with anyone who will listen the endless possibilities of food that exist beyond a number followed by the word “combo”. What I have noticed over the years is the very limited knowledge many people have when it comes to meat alternatives and food variety in general. I usually get the same basic questions:

1. How did you get so big not eating meat? – I lift bro and I eat my veggies.

2. Where do you get your protein from? – Multiple sources: tofu, soy, vegetables, legumes, whey protein, eggs, etc.

View original post 413 more words

Leave a Reply

